my vision of the world.

Who said everyone HAS to get married?

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” (Jane Austen – Pride and Prejudice. 1st line of the 1st chapter). Well that’s not necessarily true…

I was looking through some catholic blogs and I’ve notice that most of them talk about marriage or priesthood but very few (I didn’t find any, but I won’t dare to say none because internet is a world) talk about celibacy for the kingdom of God. Unless you’re talking about religious life as a nun or a friar people don’t think, speak, discuss or pray about living a life of Celibacy for God in the secular world.

What do I mean by that?

I mean not to get married to serve better the Lord outside the walls of a convent. We have in Shalom community some people, young and older, that made the choice of living in celibacy for the Kingdom of God without getting themselves excluded of this world. I think about Fabiano Landim a friend of mine who chose celibacy as his state of life to better serve the Lord, the Community and the Church. It gets better, he is in his 30’s, he is a lawyer and he loves surfing.

So normal people can choose celibacy as a state of life. I strongly believe that many young people didn’t make this choice yet because they don’t even know it exists. I mean why not chose celibacy as a form of serving the Lord at least for a year or two.  I made vows of celibacy for 5 years (not continuously) I can tell it’s a great time for improving our relationship with God. Imagine what it makes in our hearts to have Him as our unique lover. That makes us focus on God. It is true that another person can bring us closer to God but it also true he/she can be a distraction…

So for a while or forever think, or, even better pray about celibacy.

I know I have more to say about people who choose celibacy and about my time as a celibate but for now the goal of this post is only to arise the subject.

 

If you liked this post please share with your friends.

5 responses

  1. Susan

    Ah! My favorite funny line from literature! (Pride and Prejudice)

    I’ve found only one such article on Busted Halo (http://bit.ly/ektLoQ), which says singleness can help you do good works but isn’t a vocation. It doesn’t talk about people choosing to be celibate but is geared toward someone who finds herself unmarried.

    It’s refreshing to hear about people deliberately living their life that way.

    12/01/2011 at 12:59 am

    • There are actually vows people take to do that, in a special rite during mass…

      we can’t just ignore that there are people that just didn’t find anyone, but those people can profess the vows or simply profit from their “singleness” to serve the lord. No one is obliged to get married…

      13/01/2011 at 8:52 am

  2. prardhana

    my question is everyone should promise the god

    17/06/2011 at 8:36 am

  3. prardhana

    my question is everyone should marry

    17/06/2011 at 8:38 am

    • St Paul, writing to the Corinthians about celibacy and married life says: “Indeed, I wish everyone to be as I am, but each has a particular gift from God, one of one kind and one of another.”(1Cor 7,7) He was celibate for the Kingdom of God and he knew how good it was to serve God this way, I’ve done that too and I can tell…

      St. Paul calls marriage a gift too, so what I mean is we all should be open to receive both gifts from the Holy Spirit.

      If everyone gets married the service of the Lord, poor, the widows, the orphans, would be neglected or diminish in some way…
      But if everyone take vows how’s the Church going to grow?

      The reason I wrote this post was that some people only think or pray about getting married.

      17/06/2011 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

