my vision of the world.

See you in Heaven!

This morning Susan made me a question that I know I can’t have THE answer but that helped me to find what to write today. I confess I had no inspiration to write this morning but this theme just gets me going…

Well Susan I believe in heaven we are going to see our loved ones! Not only that, I believe we’ll be able to share our experiences of God we’ll have there. This last phrase I heard from my theology teacher in France. I’s a shame I don’t remember the explanation he gave after saying that… I studied in Notre Damme de Vie for one and a half years. Not enough to be informed about everything but it gave me some ideas…

Lets come to my idea of heaven.

Jesus compared several times heaven with a wedding feast (Mt 22,10 , Mt 25,10…). First of all in these kinds of feasts there is dance (Susan this is for you), there is food, there are people talking! The way I see heaven – according to the experience of God I made – it will be a place where we are going to be filled with God and we’ll be able to share with our brothers the experiences we’re having.

You may tell me that in heaven we will see Him as He is (1Jn 3,2). So it won’t be necessary to share with our Brothers and sisters what we’re “seeing” or feeling. We have to remember that God is infinite and our perception of God is very finite. I compare this to a glass of water being filled constantly by Niagara falls(!), the glass will be always full but it will never be the same water in the glass.  Multiply this to every human being in the planet (and other beings from other planets that God may have created and saved) we have plenty of room for sharing experiences of God. I think the way of sharing will be improved too because we’ll have a communion of spirit and our ways of telling thins will be way beyond words and more than that we won’t need metaphors because we’ll know what the other meant.

I don’t think we’ll get into some kind of passive awesomeness forever before God. Why can I tell? Because of the prayers for the saints. If we pray to Saint Francis of Assisi to intercede of us we believe he’ll answer our prayers. So he can listen and respond to them. Tough he isn’t frozen there! But, still, how is it going to be possible? When we have drops of the peace, love and kindness of the Lord in our prayers here on this earth we almost can’t breathe… How can we be able to move when we are before our beloved before the One our souls waited for our whole lives…  well this I can’t explain… If I could I think there wouldn’t be much to discover there, isn’t it?

The first thing I’m doing in heaven is looking for the Virgin Mary and I’m giving her a big hug of thank you! I’ll thank her for being there and for all the help I could find at her side here…

As I told you in the beginning I couldn’t say or explain everything about heaven, but I gave my opinion.

I want submit everything I wrote to the Holy Roman Catholic Church and if I made some theological mistake I apologize and I’ll correct it as soon as I can to not be in contradiction to the teachings of my Mother Church.

2 responses

  1. Susan

    Thank you, Felipe! I hadn’t thought of that–while in heaven we won’t be passive but will pray to God for those on earth. (That reminds me to pray for others today as well.) I’ve seen artwork of the multitudes in heaven praising God with palm branches, and portrayals of meeting loved ones (such as the end of the movie Titanic). But as much as we ask “all the angels and saints” to pray for us, I hadn’t pictured that.

    Speaking of angels…do you believe in guardian angels in heaven? Jesus seems to say so in Matthew 18:10 (“See that you do not look down on one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven.”).

    ~Susan

    06/10/2010 at 11:57 am

    • I believe in them and I’ll speak about angels as soon as I get some time! Promise!
      Shalom!

      06/10/2010 at 12:43 pm

Leave a Reply

