my vision of the world.

Dancing

What kinds of dancing are OK for Catholics? (Obviously, not the kind at the party you went to!) Some Christians, even some Catholics, are surprised that I do Latin dances. I have to explain that I don’t participate in anything raunchy. If a venue is trashy, I don’t go there. And then most of my dance partners don’t go to church. Who knows, maybe God wants me to be there dancing; I try to “preach at all times, use words if necessary.”

Well I don’t think I need to comment much because I think you understood it all. I think the way to go is the same of the other post. I’m Latin-american, Brazilian to be more specific. In my city there is a rhythm called “forró” which I like very much but there is forró and forró if you know what I mean. So is it ok for me to dance forró? Yes, and thankfully my community understood that and we play that in our parties. But before playing it we listen to the songs, we check the words not to play something offensive or with double meaning.

For the rest I have to tell you that you got it good! And yes you’re there to be a witness of Gods love. To show your dance partners that being a Christian is not about doing or not doing something but it’s about having a strong relationship with Someone. Someone that doesn’t take anything out but gives everything. A friend who changes our lives forever in His love and care. For whom we are willing to give up some things in our lives that we know couldn’t make us happy and complete.

Let’s continue to “preach at all times and use words if necessary.”(St. Francis of Assisi)

2 responses

  1. Susan

    Thank you for your input, Felipe. Yes, having a relationship with God is the most important thing. Thanks also for telling me about forró; I didn’t know what it was.
    ~Susan

    23/09/2010 at 12:27 pm

  2. Ash

    I am always curious what people say about dancing and christian faiths! Thanks for sharing!

    23/09/2010 at 3:24 pm

Leave a Reply

