my vision of the world.

The need for beauty.

Yesterday I was talking to a close friend about our needs. About how some people need to sleep more than others, and as the conversation was flowing I just came out with “I need arts”. As she seemed she wasn’t getting it I tried to explain that sometimes in my life I just need to get some beauty into my system, I mean to see a painting or a good Photoshop design (come on this is art too!! Some examples of what I’m talking about) or a music.
At this point beauty for me becomes very abstract as a concept because I really think pop music can be beautiful but at that point of stress I just need a minimalistic kind of beauty. When I’m at this kind of contemplation I can’t help not to think about what Saint Augustin once said that is seeing the beauties of this world that we could see “The beauty”.

For me this music is an example of what I’m trying to say. This guy probably isn’t a Christian and I have no idea of what his experience of good might be; but he had an experience about love and he was able to translate it very well into music.
This also shows me that once you’re looking for God He shows himself right away specially if you’ve already had a good and deep experience of His presence. You can contemplate not only God but His creation and even human creation and find Him.
I promise to talk about the life of prayer and my life of prayer on one of the next posts.
Shalom!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: We talked a lot these last days « Something and nothing about everything

  2. Susan

    And can we find God in sleep too?🙂

    20/10/2010 at 8:59 am

    • I have no doubt that in all the good things of this world we can find Him too…
      by the way I love sleeping!

      20/10/2010 at 9:11 am

  3. José Ricardo

    I loved this video! So beautiful… God be praised! Thank you for this moment.

    20/10/2010 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

